Can I expire people's access to a protected area?
By default, our WooCommerce Protected Categories, WooCommerce Private Store and Password Protected Categories plugins give people permanent access to your protected content. Once someone has unlocked the hidden area, they can access it indefinitely with the same logins.
This article will tell you how to expire or revoke this access to revoke access in the future. This depends on which protection method you have chosen.
Revoking access to password protected content
You can revoke someone's access to password protected areas by deleting or changing the password. This can only be done manually by editing the visibility settings for the category or private store.
Revoking access to user login protected content
WooCommerce Protected Categories, WooCommerce Private Store and Password Protected Categories also come with options for restricting categories to logged in users:
- WooCommerce Protected Categories and Password Protected Categories let you restrict categories to specific user accounts, user roles, or all user roles with access to private content.
- WooCommerce Private Store comes with a 'Logged In Users' which automatically unlocks the hidden WooCommerce store for all logged in users or specific roles.
With all of these options, the categories are unlocked whenever an authorized user logs into their account. As a result, you can revoke or expire their access by restricting access to their account.
You can either do this by changing their account privileges so they can no longer access the protected content, or you can use the free Expire Users plugin to automatically expire people's user logins after a specific period has elapsed.