1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Easy Digital Downloads EU VAT
  4. Troubleshooting

VAT exempt areas within EU countries

The Easy Digital Downloads EU VAT plugin automatically sets the correct tax rate for each European country. However, some areas within European countries are exempt from EU VAT because they are not part of the EU customs territory. For example, the Canary Islands (including Tenerife, La Palma, etc.) are part of Spain but is a VAT exempt area.

You can read a full list of VAT exempt areas here. Most of these are already in EDD as separate countries so that the plugin can automatically ensure that no VAT is charged. However, the following areas are not treated as countries in Easy Digital Downloads and unfortunately it is not possible to prevent them from being charged VAT without affecting the entire country:

  • Spain:
    • Canary Islands
    • Ceuta
    • Melilla
  •  Germany:
      • Büsingen am Hochrhein
      • Heligoland
  •  Greece:
    • Mount Athos
  • Italy:
    • Campione d'Italia and the adjacent Italian waters of Lake Lugano
    • Livigno

Related Articles

If searching the knowledge base hasn't answered your question, please contact support.